The Best April of My life (no joke)

It was a rough winter, let’s get that out of the way. I’m a snowboarder, and I was sick of winter. In the heat of local election season I usually try to plan a trip event if it’s for just a day.

I usually try to go somewhere in early April for two reasons. One I want to get out the ‘Shire because I’m sick of looking at the same mountains and the snow is starting to melt and turn into water, mud, and dirty water. It’s not very pleasant.

Well this year, I decided to make the trek down to New York City to go see a taping of Late Night With Seth Meyers. I think Mr. Meyers is great at his job, and him being a New Hampshire Native (Nashua) he is someone to be proud of.

His years on SNL as the head writer and Weekend Update host were great. Getting tickets to his show were rather easy. I actually called the same number that I had in my phone from obtaining tickets to Late Night With Jimmy Fallon.

Anyone who knows me will remember this screen shot that I posted to Facebook.

Image

That’s me on the right making a foot of myself as Jimmy awards some ugly sweater to a studio audience member in December of 2012.

Well, back to my rambling. I attended Seth Myers on Wednesday, April 2 and I figured that would be all the traveling I did for the month.

Image

Well guess what? I ended up getting on the U.S. FIRST Robotics train and I rode that thing all the way to the World Championship in St. Louis.

I have always been interested in robotics, and this year I made the decision to go to the district tournament in beautiful Lewiston, Maine. The team from Prospect Mountain High School competed well at this event and made it to the sem-finals. The team from Kingswood also competed and were awarded a rookie all-star award.

You can read about that adventure by reading the April 10 edition of The Baysider.

Then I went to Boston and covered the New England District Championship. Kingswood and PMHS again did battle. Kingswood was again awarded a Rookie All-Star Award and sealed themselves ticket to the World Championship in St. Louis. PMHS also qualified after several teams backed out.

Image

It was great to be able to travel for work, and I even managed to catch up with some of my friends in Boston on Thursday night.

You can read about the Boston Championship in the April 17 edition of The Baysider

Prior to the team’s departure to the World Championship they had a great send-off rally at PMHS and United States Senator (Jeanne Shaheen) and a want-to-be Senator (Scott Brown) and want-to-be Governor (Walt Havenstein) attended. It was great to see the students get the kind of send off that is usually reserved for a sports team. You can read about the send-off in the April 24 edition of The Baysider

Then I went to St. Louis, Missouri. That was 2,400 miles in 6 days in a Dodge Ram. And it was an amazing experience. I ate like a king in the media lounge during the four days I was in St. Louis, and I met some really cool journalist who I am sure I will be seeing down the line.

Image

You can read about the teams battling in St. Louis by reading the May 1 edition of The Baysider

St. Louis was a great city to experience for the first time. I even managed to catch a Cardinals game at Busch Stadium and what a beautiful park: 

Image

So in between all that work for the paper, I am also coaching JV Baseball at Brewster Academy, and our JV squad is an impressive 3-0. We have had several games cancelled because of weather, but there isn’t much you can do there.

I am really looking forward to this summer and attending a massive amount of concerts. This includes Boston Calling:

Image

and Fire-Fly:

Image

So that was my April in a nut shell, and It was a great experience to be able to travel for work. I would love to do it more in the future, but I don’t see many opportunities in the near future. But this month really made me realize that I am doing what I was meant to do. 

I had regrets about switching from mechanical engineering to journalism when I was in my third year in college and God knows my parents were worried that switching into a field as competitive as journalism wouldn’t be as easy. But what’s the fun in that?

I hope be starting up on the airwaves again soon on UNH radio. I will be sure to send out updates if and when that comes to fruition. Happy Spring everybody. The forecast today is cold, rainy and miserable. Welcome to New England!

About timcroes

Now 32, Tim worked as a sports editor for a weekly paper down in Virginia, hated it down there, moved back to the Granite State (New Hampshire) back in November 2009 and absolutely loves life up here in the great outdoors. Since October of 2010, Tim has been the Staff Reporter at The Baysider. Please also check out www.yankeehate.com for his opinions on all things Red Sox.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

